My race weekend..

Radders

EV Fanboy & Host of large EV Meets
Cars owned: Pagani's, Ferrari's, Porsche, Ford's, Mclaren's, Mercedes - all that is cool
just a quick report for those of you who might be interested.

Oulton park was the latest round of Carrera cup, my favourite track and where I was likely to be most confident

tested there two weeks ago and was in punching in 1.25.4 laps, very happy with that. came away wanting more speed and decided to alter the set up to hopefully improve the cornering grip/speed.

arrived Friday for the official two practice sessions and was a second down on the previous times through both sessions until the last few laps where I managed a 1.25.9. Was really disappointed and annoyed at my decision to alter a setup that was previously working fine. just to clarify my reasons for the setup change, I am a beginner at this and as a result we have a very basic setup and a long way from the pro cars, I wanted to take another step forward and add more camber etc

after a long discussion with the team about putting it back I decided to stick with it and we simply made some changes to ride height and corner weights to dial out some of the issues I had reported.

quali on Saturday came around and I went out on new rubber for the first 15 minutes and I was 8th in class, back in for a second set with 12 minutes to go, back out and two 1.25.2's were done putting me 2nd in the 1st race and pole in the 2nd race. So sticking with the setup seemed to be a good decision.

race one was Saturday evening 5pm, rolling start and 2nd on the grid, got away and took 1st on the approach to island bend on the first lap. from this point I simply managed the gap and kept it at around 1.2 seconds. made a small error on the exit of island on one lap and lost 7 tenths however I pulled these back in the following laps and got it back to 1.2. with 4 laps to go a red flag came out due to a big accident and I had won. Result :)